Hon'ble Shri Justice Bimala Prasad Das, Chairperson, OHRC

Son of late Golak Chandra Das of Village Dharmagatpur under Salepur Police Station of Cuttack District. Born on 15th November, 1950 at Ramgarh in Cuttack Town. Did his schooling at the Christ Collegiate School, Cuttack. But the family of Justice Das belongs to Dharmagatpur under Salepur Police Station. Graduated himself from the Ravenshaw College, Cuttack in 1970. Did his Post-Graduation in Political Science at the Utkal University in 1972 and LL.B. at Madhusudan Law College, Cuttack under Utkal University in 974. Joined the Orissa High Court Bar in 1974 as an Associate of Shri Bijoy Krushna Mahanti, Senior Advocate starting his independent practice in 1979. Besides conducting various cases, such as constitution, taxation, civil, criminal, revenue, labour and environmental matters of private litigants in the High Court as well as in the Subordinate Courts in the State, he was advocate for different institutions, corporations and companies of repute. Was the Senior Counsel of the State Pollution Control Board and dealt with various important environmental matters. Was a Member of the Orissa State Bar Council from 11.05.1996 to 14.05.1997. Was Additional Government Advocate in the High Court of Orissa from December, 1996 until his elevation as a Permanent Judge of the High Court of Orissa on 17th June, 1999. Retired as the Senior most Puisne Judge of the Orissa High Court on 14.11.2012. Also functioned as the Chairman of the Appellate Authorities constituted under the Water (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act, 1974, Air (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act, 1981, and the Bio-Medical Waste (Management and Handling)Rules, 1998 from November, 2005 till retirement. Was also the Executive Chairman of the Odisha State Legal Services Authority and the Chairman of the Advisory Board constituted under the national Security Act, 1980 from April, 2010 till retirement. He also functioned as the Member, Krishna Water Dispute Tribunal as well as the Commission constituted by the State Government to reform the functioning of the Puri Shri Jagannath Temple. Presently, functioning as the Chairperson, Odisha Human Rights Commission.